February 7, 2012

  • Helium

    I've started seeing a psychologist, and he's a really good one. Nothing like the passive sex voyeur I saw back in Texas. This guy is focused on results and giving me tools.

    Yesterday I learned something major.

    I'm basically a sweetheart kind of guy who, as far back as I can remember, has never intentionally hurt anyone. Because of that, I never really learned what true guilt is -- at least, not that kind of guilt. The guilt of hurting someone intentionally.

    That being said, I've always felt bad when bad things happen to people, and especially when it was something I did, or do, that causes that hurt. I've carried a world of these bad feelings with me my whole life. Then yesterday my shrink taught me that important, vital thing:

    There's a huge difference between being guilty, and feeling bad. I've always felt guilty. But since I've never intentionally hurt anyone, I have no reason to actually feel guilty -- for anything. Bad, yes. It's right and natural to feel bad for something that causes someone pain -- but to blame yourself for it? To carry around guilt because of it? No.

    Learning that, learning that I've been misplacing guilt my entire life, feeling guilty for things I should never have felt guilty for, was one of those huge "Why the fuck didn't I know this?" moments. I walked out of the office feeling rather heavy, somber, and then suddenly it was like a huge weight lifted off of me, and I felt like I was suddenly full of helium. I had always been trying to forgive myself for things ... turns out I never needed to! There was nothing to forgive!

    I am feeling really good right now.

Comments (1)

  • I love therapy for this very reason! Sometimes it takes someone outside of our world to point to the very nose on our face! I'm glad you're getting results!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment